Sisters before misters!

Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatu,

I hope you are well.

I know there has been a lot of time that I have been absent and I am very sorry! But insha’Allah this will make up for it! 🙂

Since I have started work in an office, I have noticed many things. In a much stronger way. I have noticed the way in which some males can be very chauvinistic, the senior leadership roles being filled with white males, the “office politics” that seem to be present everywhere and one of the most important things that I have come across, women in the workplace and their role within the workplace.

As a woman myself, I understand the ups and downs that we all face. From the pressure to look completely perfect all of the time to the consistent attempt to try and fit into a largely male-dominated playing field. 

However, I am different to the other women. 

I am a Muslimah, giving me a whole new perspective on the situation at hand. Being a Muslimah allows me to be saved from the usual pressures of feeling as though my make-up needs to be perfect, my skirt needs to be as high as possible without being trashy, my cleavage needs to be shown without showing too much, my legs need to be completely smooth and toned, my flirting skills need to be amazing to get what I need and so on. 

All of these pressures, put together with the role of trying to be the perfect wife and/or mother, make me feel so incredibly sad and pained to see every single woman who hasn’t been freed by Islam. With so much pressure upon them to be perfect at everything they do, and to do lots of it, I just wish that I could help them and give them the biggest hug in the world! 

My sisters in humanity are incredibly precious to me, whether they look at me with a disgusted look for dressing in the way that I do or actually treat me like any other woman. 

Islam teaches both men and women to truly respect the status of women. 

The status of a woman in Islam is incredible, shown through the jurisdiction regarding them. Women are saved from going to work in order to keep them from being treated badly by male colleagues and to ensure that they do not have extra stress upon themselves. Women are told to cover themselves completely in order to protect themselves and to be known as women who you should not mess with (i.e. women who are not interested in participating in flirting or any other form of debauchery). Women who become mothers have Paradise at the bottom of their feet (not literally!) but through respect, love and patience with mothers, Paradise can easily be earned. 

These are but a few examples of the status of women within Islam, despite what others may believe or say about the subject.

Women are incredibly sensitive, special, amazing, beautiful and strong creatures with so much to give to society. However, media and society in general has reduced the beautiful human to a subservient object of attraction, a tool to be used to fulfill males desires and a angry intense ball of hatred and jealousy for fellow women.

Through this re-shaping, society has started to break down as the true core of society, women, has been reduced to a low level.

I hope that we can do something as sisters in humanity to change this harsh reality and save ourselves and others.

Unusually, all of this stemmed from standing in a bathroom, watching two women put on make-up and fix themselves up in the morning…

May Allah (SWT) help us to be able to lead change and gain closeness to our fellow women. Ameen. 

JazakAllahu khairan for reading this.

Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatu,

A Modern Muslimah ❤

Leave a Reply

