My apprenticeship experience: After 3 days

Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

I hope you are well.

Sorry for not posting after my first day. I have been so tired the past 2 days as I get into the 9-5 routine.

My first day was okay but slightly boring as we just had loads of inductions, from both Human Resources and the Technology Support team. We, another apprentice and I, got acquainted with our desks and we got to know what lied ahead for us.

The second day was better as we got to go through a few installations and sort out some printer jams. We got to know how to do it and how to report a fault to the manufacturer if we can’t do anything else. We couldn’t do a lot because only one person of the Technology Support team was there and she had to take calls, as well as keeping us engaged!

The third day, i.e. yesterday, we learned a lot more, from how to resolve calls to how to add a new person into the system. The other person in the Technology Support team came in, after being ill, so we did it with him. With the woman in the team, we went through how to set up a BlackBerry for people in specific departments.

And we got a cupcake! Due to the launch of QVC Extra and QVC Style, the entire Technology department and Media department were all treated to a gorgeous cupcake!

All of the staff seem very genuine, kind, respectful, caring, understanding and very open, alhumdulillah!!! I realised this when the CEO of the company(!) came upstairs to call a member of Technology Support to help him with his problem, when he could have just got someone else to go up for him. That down-to-earth-edness (I made up this word! ๐Ÿ™‚ ) is so amazing to see in a HUGE company and just as he doesn’t see himself too big to walk up to Technology Support himself, so does no-one else feel uncomfortable chatting and being friendly to every single person, whether they are in a department above you or a role “below you”.

From this lovely atmosphere (Alhumdulillah!), I feel like part of the company after just 3 days! I don’t think you could feel that with a lot of other companies out there!

Alhumdulillah for everything!

However, one important thing that I was thinking about was the fact that when working in an environment where it is predominantly non-Muslims, your heart may become hard as more of the love of the dunya enters into your heart.

I was wondering if you could help me by telling me some ways I could prevent this as the Akhirah is far more important than the dunya.

JazakAllahu khairan for actually reading this and being a part of my experience as well.

If you have any questions, please ask away!

JazakAllahu khairan.

Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

A Modern Muslimah โค

Leave a Reply

