Get out, you Muslim!

Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

I hope you are well.

Very sorry for not posting the daily suhoor/sehri updates because I’ve been excused for a week so I haven’t eaten anything for suhoor/sehri to report back on.

Today I thought that I would do a post which really is an issue in my age group and that issue/topic is…

BEING AN OUTCAST FOR BEING A MUSLIM.

Being a young person myself, I have been exposed to this, as you do become whilst living in the West.

Different things, from free-mixing to illegitimate relationships, are the norm in the West, a nation in need of dire help. To be a young Muslim, living in the West, to not have a boyfriend/girlfriend, to not drink alcohol, to not do drugs, to not be in a “relationship”, to not be flirting with every Tom, Dick and Harry, to not be lustfully gazing at the opposite gender, to not be engaged in fornication, to not be dressing to entice the opposite gender, to not be so obsessed with celebrities, to not know every single lyric of every single song, to not know every single line of every single movie, to not be obsessed with money and the dunya, to not be worshipping Satan, and to not be many other things, makes you WEIRD!

The West depicts someone as “normal” when they follow the “rulings” that they follow. As soon as you become free from the shackles of this dunya, you are seen as an outcast for not following what is the “norm”, i.e. what the people have been brainwashed to know as the norm.

As a young Muslimah who has been a part of that life outlined above, I know that there is NO benefit whatsoever that comes from it. Just a sense of emptiness and despair. When I found Islam all over again, it felt as though I was able to see properly for the first time. I remember feeling so free and ecstatic.

So what I advise the people who are encompassed by this dunya is:

1. Have a sincere and strong intention to get out of where you are.

2. Find good friends and acquaintances. (This tip is invaluable! It helped me SO much when I was finding Islam all over again.)

3. Keep striving against your nafs and Shaitaan. Even when your nafs and Shaitaan really want you to do something bad.

4. Make lots of dua, especially at the time of Tahajjud. It will help you to get to an extremely beautiful place in your imaan insha’Allah.

5. If you can’t find good friends or you have to leave them, then remember you always have Allah(SWT) really close to you at all times, closer than your jugular vein.

image

I hope this helps, insha’Allah!

May we all be blessed with the opportunity of seeing Laylatul Qadr! Insha’Allah ameen.

JazakAllahu khairan.

Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

A Modern Muslimah โค

16 thoughts on “Get out, you Muslim!

  1. I liked this post ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m by no means the perfect Muslim, but I am striving to be and making changes for myself. If people feel I’m weird because I don’t adhere to their norms, then that’s absolutely fine with me. I’d rather be deemed weird and odd than deviate away from my religion and from Allah. I think I’m going through a transition where I’m finding much more comfort and peace spiritually and to me this is more important than trying to fit in with what society says is normal.

    • Sorry for the late reply. Aww jazakAllahu khairan! Yeah same. Very true! Tabaraka’Allah. But sometimes people’s natural urge to fit in overrides the Islamic teachings, bringing a lot of regret later on. Alhumdulillah! I’m happy for you. It will be the BEST time in your life without a doubt! I know it was for me. Tabaraka’Allah that’s really cool! Insha’Allah may you, me and the entire Ummah be steadfast upon the Straight Path and may Allah(SWT) guide and pardon us! Ameen.xx

  2. For me this has been an issue whole my life. Not only in my new Muslim life. xD It’s not only about not drinking, smoking, partying etc, but also the way I act. For example I’ve never shout at anyone in my entire life and for many people this seems weird. Also my kindness and politeness seems awkward to many people. It has been hard but it has also been great teacher for me. At some point I just stopped worrying how people see me. This is who I am and I won’t change it. After that I haven’t even thought about this issue. I am very happy the way I am and it is easier to take people’s criticism. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Wow! I wouldn’t have thought. Oh yeah kindness and patience is a “weird” quality to have! Yeah everything “bad” (I don’t believe anything is bad. There is good in EVERY situation.), that happens, teaches you a lesson in life. Tabaraka’Allah! That’s a good attitude to have. I’m still trying to get there, insha’Allah!

    • Aww that’s good to hear! Yeah the West in general is pretty messed up! I just hope that the future generations are not exposed to even worse than what we are exposed to!

        • Definitely! Yeah sadly it does. That’s why a lot of Westerners turned to Islam. Islam, whatever the media says, gave them the ease and protection they needed. It helped them to fill that void within. I think so too. Finding upright, kind and genuine people in this day and age can be difficult but from what I’ve seen, there are many so don’t give up! ๐Ÿ™‚

          • Yes we can’t give up! I’ve also met a lot of fellow Christians who are sincere people, not just total hypocrites like the media portrays them (the media often doesn’t like Christians among other groups). I think it’s important not to fall in the mold ๐Ÿ™‚

          • Definitely! Oh right. I would never have thought that Christians would be targeted! I thought it was just us Muslims. They’re portrayed as hypocrites? I never knew that! I definitely agree!

          • The stories that I have heard make the latter seem more real while the former is a softer way to put it! But thankfully, it has calmed down a bit from what I have seen. However, it has come over here now, after the Boston bombings. Now, people are being a lot more obvious of their dislike of us.

          • I was referring to how Christians are ridiculed, but yes people are afraid, but they should really remember that it is just a minority of Muslims who are violent. But sadly people jump to conclusions

          • Ohh sorry! Please forgive me. I misunderstood. Yeah and the thing is that in every religion or culture there are bad people. So is the whole of mankind bad?! It’s quite silly how people follow the media’s twisted perception of Islam! I hope I’M nice in your opinion! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

