Dates and milk for suhoor ONLY?! [Feedback]

Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

I hope you are well.

After a day fasting on 5 dates and a glass of milk, I felt that as I woke up, I didn’t feel as groggy and lazy as I had previously. Throughout the day, I felt like doing a lot more. However, as I had drank a can of cola and 2 glasses of Dr. Pepper, I was dehydrated far faster than usual, resulting in a drop in productivity and concentration.

A word of advice: DO NOT DRINK CAFFEINE IN RAMADAN!

More so in the heat, but even normally, it drains you completely. A few better alternatives would be milk or water, as milk is about 90% water and that will allow you to keep productive, concentrated and far more awake.

What I have seen from these last 7 days of fasting is that the amount that we eat at iftar, a far reduced amount, is so much better for us and is actually the amount that our bodies really need. Also, for the coffee and tea lovers (me first!), the caffeine in the tea and coffee that we love seriously drains us (unless you drink enough water to balance things out) and it also takes our energy with it.
If you found out just how caffeine plays tricks on our minds every single morning and also how caffeine destroys us, I’m pretty sure you will stay away from it! (I encourage you to read up on the effects of caffeine on the body! You will be surprised!)
I also realised just how much we neglect the blessed natural foods which have been given to us from Allah(SWT). Instead of reaping the numerous benefits of these beautiful foods and drinks, many actually mentioned in the Qur’an, we opt for the man-made rubbish which ruins our bodies, instead of helping them and providing ease for them.

Insha’Allah may we all be a lot more aware of ourselves and our diets. Also, may we all change our bad habits! Ameen.

JazakAllahu khairan.

Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

A Modern Muslimah โค

2 thoughts on “Dates and milk for suhoor ONLY?! [Feedback]

  1. first id like to say i do this all the time now! lol and next, random questions tag (im posting on my fav blogs) would love to know ur answers ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Would u rather be born Muslim or covert and why
    2 favorite book that is g-rated . (suitable for young)
    3. if u won the lottery what would u do with it
    4. Most inspirational Muslima you know
    5. Number 1 thing u cannot leave home without
    6. Biggest problem faced as a Muslim teen
    7. Coke or Pepsi
    8. Chicken or beef
    9. Fav. Ice cream flavor
    10. Cooking or baking
    11. Perfect age for marriage (both girl and guy)
    12. Celebrity crush
    13. Christianity or Judaism
    14. What would u name ur daughter.
    15. What would u name ur son
    16. Colour that suits all skin tones
    17. Ur dream car
    18. Characteristics ur husband must have
    19. If you could change anything physically about yourself what would u change?
    20. If you could change eye colour, hair colour and skin colour. Which colours would u choose?

    • Sorry for the late reply. Aww Alhumdulillah! I’m happy to hear that! Aww thank you for choosing me!
      1. I would rather be born a convert because they appreciate the Deen a lot more and truly understand the Blessing of Islam whilst some who are born into the religion don’t appreciate it as much.
      2. The Qur’an is my favourite book.
      3. I wouldn’t gamble so no comment! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      4. Amena who runs a UK based hijab company called Pearl Daisy
      5. My mobile phone
      6. Keeping away from the major sins
      7. They’re both naughty but Pepsi!
      8. Beef (A good steak doesn’t go amiss!)
      9. Cookie dough!!
      10. Cooking because you can mess up a little on the measurements and it can still taste alright.
      11. 21 (not perfect, due to people’s situations but ideal, in my eyes)
      12. None (I don’t really take interest in celebrities)
      13. Christianity because it has Isa(AS) the son of the most pious woman, Maryam(AS)
      14. Aila meaning Noble
      15. Uthman who is the 3rd caliph
      16. Brown
      17. Mini Cooper (my dreams are small!)
      18. Imaan, taqwa, understanding, patience, compassion and empathy (insha’Allah!)
      19. Nothing. Alhumdulillah I’m happy with how I was created!
      20. I wouldn’t change anything Alhumdulillah! I love every colour of my eyes, hair and skin!
      JazakAllahu khairan! Xx

Leave a Reply

