Dates and milk for suhoor ONLY?!

Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

I hope you are well.

I recently watched a video on YouTube which spoke about over-eating in Ramadan. (The video is at the end of the post.) Within the video, a Sunnah which I had not come across before was shown;
the sunnah of eating dates and milk for suhoor.

Upon seeing this, I thought that I should give it a try. So today, I ate 5 dates and a glass of milk. Insha’Allah I will tell you, at the end of the day, how I fared.

What I was thinking about though was why did the Prophet Muhammad (SAW) specifically drink milk and eat dates for suhoor?

I went to find out by researching the health benefits of both dates and milk. I found many, many websites boasting the immense number of benefits of both but the two websites that I gained my primary information from were the Organic Facts page (Health Benefits of Dates) and the SheKnows page (The Health Benefits of Drinking Milk).

Both gave unbiased information as to how these miracle foods were so vital for us. This gave me the understanding I needed to see why the Prophet Muhammad (SAW) chose these two edibles for consumption at suhoor time.

Insha’Allah I hope that you will also adopt this beautiful Sunnah and I also hope that you will gain a lot of benefit from it. Ameen.

May Muhammad(SAW) have peace and blessings upon himself(SAW). Insha’Allah ameen!

The video is:

JazakAllahu khairan.

Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

A Modern Muslimah ❤

Leave a Reply

